The Long Earth

13147230The Long Earth (The Long Earth book 1)

Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter

1 out of 5

I am a fan of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, and love his nonsensical writing style, so I was very excited to find a trilogy coauthored by him. I hadn’t heard of Stephen Baxter before, but assumed- wrongfully so- that his writing style was similar to Pratchett’s and would create an interesting series that I could read all summer. I could not have been more disappointed. Throughout the entire book it seemed like they weren’t on the same page with anything. Their writing styles clashed, the characters were 2 dimensional, and the plot was boring and didn’t seem to go anywhere or explore all of the possibilities of the parallel universe-style world. Interesting concept, but rough execution.

Reader: amu

Find this book in the Minuteman Library Network.

